MRS. RAMA JAIN MEMORIAL TIMES NATIONAL BRIDGE CHAMPIONSHIP 2009

Summary Report & Results

The 28th Edition of "Mrs. Rama Jain Memorial Times National Bridge Championship" was held at Delhi Bridge Association on 7-8th March 2009. **28** pairs from all parts of the country participated in the event. In an all-play-all format, each pair played 2 boards against the other 27 opponents twice in the 2-day event.

After the 1st session on Day-1 (after 14 rounds) the leaders were as follows:

1.	N K Gupta - Maneesh Bahuguna	218.58 (60.05%)
2.	T C Pant - Namit Sharma	218.00 (59.89%)
3.	B Roy - S C Gupta	212.42 (58.36%)
4.	Ajay Kadian - Sanjay Gupta	206.38 (56.70%)
5.	Ravi Sawhney - P C Gupta	202.92 (55.75%)

The 2nd session on day-1 saw a come back from the other pairs and the winners of Session-2 were:

1.	Vijay Goel - Sunil Bhatia	212.08 (62.75%)
2.	R Kannan - R Sreekrishnan	201.23 (59.54%)
3.	Suhas Vaidya - Kaustabh Bendre	199.96 (59.16%)
4.	K Suryanarayana - V Vijaykumar	197.23 (58.35%)

The leaders N.K. Gupta – Maneesh Bahuguna got 55.27% and the 2^{nd} position holders Pant – Sharma got only 49.19% in the 2^{nd} session.

The leaders at the end of day-1 (at half way stage), out of a total score of 702 (on a TOP score of 13 in each board for 54 boards) were:

1.	N K Gupta - Manish Bahuguna	405.39
2.	Suhas Vaidya - Kaustabh Bendre	396.88
3.	T C Pant - Namit Sharma	384.27
4.	B Roy - S C Gupta	382.15

The players again played against all their opponents on day-2 and the leaders of the session-3 (after 14 rounds) were:

1.	Biman Chatterjee - R K Mazumder	242.50 (66.62%)
2.	Keyzad Anklesaria - Sapan Desai	219.50 (59.48%)
3.	C K Bhargava - R K Shukla	216.50 (59.48%)
4.	T C Pant - Namit Sharma	210.00 (57.69%)

The leaders Gupta – Bahuguna had a score of 54.81% and the 2^{nd} position holders Vaidya – Bendre got 53.98% in the 3^{rd} session. The leaders at the end of 3 sessions (out of a maximum score of 1066) were:

1.	N K Gupta - Manish Bahuguna	604.89
2.	T C Pant - Namit Sharma	594.27
3.	Suhas Vaidya - Kaustabh Bendre	593.38
4.	Keyzad Anklesaria - Sapan Desai	584.03

It was anybody's game when the players sat for the last session of 13 rounds (26 boards). However, Suhas Vaidya – Kaustubh Bendre from Pune, Maharashtra with an excellent 57.99% in the last session won the event with a final score of 789.38 (56.22%).

The winners of the 4th session were:

1.	B Roy - S C Gupta	199.00 (58.88%)
2.	Suhas Vaidya - Kaustabh Bendre	196.00 (57.99%)
3.	R C Mishra - P Beura	194.50 (57.54%)
4.	Ajay Kadian - Sanjay Gupta	189.50 (56.07%)

T.C. Pant – Namit Sharma had a score of 188.00 (55.62%) whereas the leaders N.K. Gupta – Maneesh Bahuguna could score only 171.50 (50.74%) in the last session.

The complete final result of the event:

Rank	Score	%	Pair Name	State
1	789.38	56.22	Suhas Vaidya - Kaustabh Bendre	Maharashtra
2	782.27	55.72	T C Pant - Namit Sharma	DBA
3	776.39	55.30	N K Gupta - Manish Bahuguna	Delhi
4	773.15	55.07	B Roy - S C Gupta	Uttrakhand
5	766.03	54.56	Keyzad Anklesaria - Sapan Desai	Gujarat
6	752.61	53.60	Ajay Kadian - Sanjay Gupta	Haryana
7	751.15	53.50	Paresh Gupta - Amarjit Wadhawan	Delhi
8	744.96	53.06	Biman Chatterjee - R K Mazumder	West Bengal
9	733.31	52.23	K Suryanarayana - V Vijaykumar	A.P.
10	728.47	51.89	Ashok Vaidya - Satish Limaye	Maharashtra
11	726.32	51.73	Moin - Ratnesh	Bihar
12	724.85	51.63	P V Vahalia - Ariz Anklesaria	Gujarat
13	714.42	50.88	C K Bhargava - R K Shukla	U.P.
14	714.39	50.88	R C Mishra - P Beura	Orissa
15	714.04	50.86	R Kannan - R Sreekrishnan	Tamilnadu
16	706.85	50.35	Y Kamalakara Rao - Somi Reddy	Invitee (BFI)
17	698.81	49.77	Vijay Goel - Sunil Bhatia	Sponsor
18	694.15	49.44	Ravi Sawhney - P C Gupta	DBA
19	692.89	49.35	Apruba Bhattacharya - Shankar Ghose	West Bengal
20	678.58	48.33	Pramod Joshi - Sudhir Choudhary	Maharashtra
21	674.15	48.02	Sudhir Aggarwal - Vinod Sharma	Delhi
22	654.66	46.63	B Prasad - R A Siddique	U.P.
23	647.57	46.12	Sharad Takane - Bhaskar Aherrao	Maharashtra
24	638.92	45.51	T K Banerji - Mrs. Nita Banerji	Chandigarh
25	627.07	44.66	Dr. Nikita Kamal - Arun Jain	DBA
26	596.96	42.52	Dr. S K Meena - C V Kekre	M.P.
27	589.54	41.99	Mani - Prof. Bhosale	Maharashtra
28	564.11	40.18	R S Narayanan - S Ganesan	Tamilnadu